Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://docs.prosentient.com.au/prosentientjspui/handle/1/10934
Title: SaMpling Antibiotics in Renal Replacement Therapy (SMARRT): an observational pharmacokinetic study in critically ill patients.
Authors: Roberts, Jason A
Choi, Gordon Y S
Joynt, Gavin M
Paul, Sanjoy K
Deans, Renae
Peake, Sandra
Cole, Louise
Stephens, Dianne
Bellomo, Rinaldo
Turnidge, John
Wallis, Steven C
Roberts, Michael S
Roberts, Darren M
Lassig-Smith, Melissa
Starr, Therese
Lipman, Jeffrey
Affiliation: Burns Trauma and Critical Care Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Level 3 Ned Hanlon Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. j.roberts2@uq.edu.au.. Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, Queensland, Australia. j.roberts2@uq.edu.au..
Prince of Wales Hospital, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Special Administrative Region, China. gchoi@cuhk.edu.hk..
Prince of Wales Hospital, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Special Administrative Region, China. gavinmjoynt@cuhk.edu.hk..
Clinical Trials & Biostatistics Unit, QIMR Berghofer, Queensland, Australia. sanjoy.paul@qimrberghofer.edu.au..
Burns Trauma and Critical Care Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Level 3 Ned Hanlon Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. renae.deans@gmail.com..
The Queen Elizabeth Hospital, South Australia, Australia. Sandra.Peake@sa.gov.au..
Nepean Hospital, New South Wales, Australia. l.cole@sydney.edu.au..
Royal Darwin Hospital, Northern Territory, Australia. Dianne.stephens@nt.gov.au..
Austin Hospital, Victoria, Australia. Rinaldo.BELLOMO@austin.org.au..
Royal Women's and Children's Hospital, Queensland, Australia. John.Turnidge@health.sa.gov.au..
Burns Trauma and Critical Care Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Level 3 Ned Hanlon Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. s.wallis@uq.edu.au..
Therapeutics Research Unit, The University of Queensland, Queensland, Australia. m.roberts@uq.edu.au..
Burns Trauma and Critical Care Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Level 3 Ned Hanlon Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. 1darren1@gmail.com..
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, Queensland, Australia. Melissa.Lassig-Smith@health.qld.gov.au..
Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, Queensland, Australia. Therese.Starr@health.qld.gov.au..
Burns Trauma and Critical Care Research Centre, The University of Queensland, Level 3 Ned Hanlon Building, Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital, Herston, Queensland, 4029, Australia. j.lipman@uq.edu.au.. Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital, Queensland, Australia. j.lipman@uq.edu.au..
Issue Date: 1-Mar-2016
Citation: BMC infectious diseases 2016-03-01; 16: 103
Abstract: Optimal antibiotic dosing is key to maximising patient survival, and minimising the emergence of bacterial resistance. Evidence-based antibiotic dosing guidelines for critically ill patients receiving RRT are currently not available, as RRT techniques and settings vary greatly between ICUs and even individual patients. We aim to develop a robust, evidence-based antibiotic dosing guideline for critically ill patients receiving various forms of RRT. We further aim to observe whether therapeutic antibiotic concentrations are associated with reduced 28-day mortality. We designed a multi-national, observational pharmacokinetic study in critically ill patients requiring RRT. The study antibiotics will be vancomycin, linezolid, piperacillin/tazobactam and meropenem. Pharmacokinetic sampling of each patient's blood, RRT effluent and urine will take place during two separate dosing intervals. In addition, a comprehensive data set, which includes the patients' demographic and clinical parameters, as well as modality, technique and settings of RRT, will be collected. Pharmacokinetic data will be analysed using a population pharmacokinetic approach to identify covariates associated with changes in pharmacokinetic parameters in critically ill patients with AKI who are undergoing RRT for the five commonly prescribed antibiotics. Using the comprehensive data set collected, the pharmacokinetic profile of the five antibiotics will be constructed, including identification of RRT and other factors indicative of the need for altered antibiotic dosing requirements. This will enable us to develop a dosing guideline for each individual antibiotic that is likely to be relevant to any critically ill patient with acute kidney injury receiving any of the included forms of RRT. Australian New Zealand Clinical Trial Registry ( ACTRN12613000241730 ) registered 28 February 2013.
URI: http://docs.prosentient.com.au/prosentientjspui/handle/1/10934
DOI: 10.1186/s12879-016-1421-6
Type: Journal Article
Multicenter Study
Observational Study
Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
Subjects: Acute Kidney Injury
Adolescent
Adult
Aged
Aged, 80 and over
Algorithms
Anti-Bacterial Agents
Biomarkers, Pharmacological
Clinical Protocols
Critical Illness
Female
Humans
Male
Middle Aged
Sepsis
Young Adult
Renal Replacement Therapy
Appears in Collections:NT Health digital library

Files in This Item:
There are no files associated with this item.


Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.