Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: Malaria
Authors: Centre for Disease Control
Department of Health
Issue Date: Dec-2012
Publisher: Department of Health
Abstract: Malaria is a parasitic disease transmitted by Anopheles mosquitoes. There are 5 types of parasites that cause malaria: Plasmodium ovale, P. malariae, P. knowlesi, P. vivax, and P. falciparum. The last 2 are the most common. Primarily, malaria is an infection of the red blood cells, causing recurring fever of sudden onset. Malaria caused by P. falciparum is life threatening and can cause multiple organ damage, coma and death.
Type: Fact Sheet
Subjects: Plasmodium ovale
Appears in Collections:NT General Collection

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat  
Malaria Dec 2012.pdf550.66 kBAdobe PDFThumbnail

Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.